3rd NES Webinar on 15th November by Prof. Emily S. Patterson

Updated: Nov 11



Dr. Emily Patterson is a Professor in the Division of Health Information Management and Systems, School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences, College of Medicine at the Ohio State University. She received her Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial Engineering from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign and Master’s and Ph.D. degrees in Industrial and Systems Engineering at The Ohio State University. Her primary area of expertise is human factors engineering, which is a multidisciplinary approach to the design of automated decision support that aids human cognition in complex settings. She is a member of the Human Factors and Ergonomics Society (HFES) and the American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA).


Dr. Patterson’s primary research interests apply human factors engineering to:

1) health informatics, which is computerized technology that supports clinical decision making, and

2) macrocognitive communication, which is the application of communication strategies by distributed teams in complex settings to accomplish work objectives.

Her research has significantly contributed to a United States national standard for summative usability testing for electronic health records, hospital accreditation requirements for standardizing shift change handovers, and medical residency program accreditation requirements for assessing effective communication during sign-outs. Dr. Patterson has published 89 peer-reviewed journal articles and an edited book. Her research has been cited over 7000 times.


Dr. Patterson has created a four-class, online graduate certificate program titled Usability and User Experience Design at The Ohio State University (http://go.osu.edu/uxcertificate). Courses include Healthcare Human Factors, Quality Management and Performance Improvement, Information Systems and Technology, and a mentored individual project.


Tuesday, November 15th, 2022

Time: 16:00 - 17:00 EEST (Finland)

15:00 - 16:00 CET (Norway, Denmark, Sweden)

14:00 - 15:00 GMT (Iceland, UK)

09:00 - 10:00 EST (New York, Ohio etc.)


After registering at the Zoom link below, you will receive a confirmation email about joining the webinar.

https://ju-se.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_TeahXLAYSDWN4iMbMY7IKg?fbclid=IwAR36l8kk29enDLeXo0nGECkD1j43r5ElCv0414GQYiaqEzwux8y_E4YgfZo

Recent Posts

See All

The NES 2022 annual general meeting will take place on Monday 24th of October 2022 at 16:00. Location: Norrlands Nation Fest & Konferens in Uppsala, Sweden (the venue of the NES conference). Please fi